O2 Media Awards North West 2014

O2 Media Awards expand for 2014


New categories celebrate quality regional journalism



The O2 Media Awards for the North West are back and this year bigger than ever.


Now in their eighth year, the country’s premier regional journalism event, has introduced three new categories to celebrate the media’s work across print, television, radio and on line organisations.


This year’s host will be BBC Breakfast presenter Louise Minchin.


New awards will crown the region’s best TV or Radio Presenter, leading Weekly Journalist and top Weekly Sports writer. There’s also a community journalism award where judges will look for examples of grass roots journalism in support of local communities.


As in previous years there is no entry fee for journalists to enter the O2 awards. Winners will be announced at a glittering awards and presentation evening on November 13 at the Imperial War Museum in Manchester.


Deadline for entries is September 11, 2014, with work published or broadcast between September 1, 2013 and August 16, 2014 eligible for the individual and team categories.


Award categories will recognise the most talented and creative people in the media industry from young journalists starting out on their careers through to those who, in the opinion of their peers, have made an outstanding contribution to the industry.


Categories range from Reporter of the Year, TV Journalist of the Year, Photographer of the Year, Radio Journalist of the Year and Editorial Team of the Year.


The new category for leading TV or radio presenter is designed to highlight the work of those special individuals who are the “face” or “voice” of the newsroom. These are the key individuals who deliver news and information in a manner that wins trust and keeps audiences loyal to a station.


Additional categories to celebrate weekly journalism give those who work within local communities, delivering the best news and sports coverage available, the chance the shine.


Judges are made up of experts from the media and include working journalists, editors and publishers.


The O2 Media Awards are part of a series of regional media contests organised by O2 across the North. The awards for Yorkshire and The Humber produced a record volume of entries culminating in a glittering awards night at the Royal Armouries in Leeds.


Paul James, acting head of Communications and Reputation at O2 UK, said the awards had never failed to highlight the tremendous examples of community journalism across the North West region.


“The introduction of additional categories not only reflects the popularity of the awards but charts the changing face of media organisations. However we never lose sight of what’s at the heart of this event – the impact regional and community journalism has on its local communities and that’s why we are making this year’s categories even more inclusive.”


This year the Awards will also be supported by Capita, the UK leader in business process management and outsourcing solutions. Last year, O2 extended its existing partnership with Capita to include the running of O2’s call centres across the UK. This included the Customer Service teams at O2 centres in Bury in Greater Manchester and Runcorn in Cheshire.


Bob Buiaroski, Chief Operating Officer for the Capita O2 Partnership, said the Awards had developed into one of the most prestigious of its type in the UK.


“We are thrilled to support the efforts of media professionals across the North West and see our support in helping grow the Awards and allow the fantastic work of even more regional journalists to be showcased.”


Journalists will be able to enter the following categories:



  • Feature Writer of the Year
  • Sports Journalist of the Year
  • Photographer of the Year
  • Young Journalist of the Year
  • TV Broadcast Journalist of the Year
  • Radio Broadcast Journalist of the Year
  • News Reporter of the Year
  • Specialist Writer of the Year
  • Weekly Sports Reporter of the Year
  • Scoop of the Year
  • Editorial Team of the Year
  • Emerging Talent Award
  • New Media Award
  • Community Journalism Award
  • Specialist Publication of the Year
  • Free Distribution Newspaper of the Year
  • Weekly Paid For Newspaper of the Year
  • Daily Newspaper of the Year
  • Broadcast Presenter of the Year
  • Weekly Reporter of the Year



Entry forms are available by contacting Rossiter Media on 01829 741371 or by e-mail request to O2mediaawards@rossitermedia.co.uk



For more information, contact


+44 (0)7850 708009 Mark RossiterRossiter Mediamark@rossitermedia.co.uk

+44 (0)1829 741371



O2 Press Office contacts


t +44 (0)1753 565656

e: pressoffice@o2.com