O2 Media Awards expand for 2016- Celebrating 10 years of media coverage across regional communities

NOMINATIONS for the 2016 O2 Media Awards for Yorkshire and the Humber are open.

Regarded as the ‘Oscars’ of regional journalism, the O2 Awards are a celebration of the media’s work across print, television, radio and on-line organisations.

The O2 Awards have been reviewing regional news coverage and events for the past 10 years and, as in previous years, there is no entry fee for journalists to enter the competition. Judging panels will meet in June and July and shortlisted nominees in this year’s 21 awards categories will be announced in August. All nominees will be invited to a memorable awards presentation evening in October 2016 where category winners will be revealed.

Deadline for entries is June 15. Only work published or broadcast between May 2, 2015 and May 1, 2016 is eligible for the individual and team categories.

This year’s categories will reflect the changing face of regional journalism and the innovation and skills being employed by writers and broadcasters to reach new audiences. A new category has been introduced to celebrate the role of regional magazines. There’s also a special O2 Stand Out Award to acknowledge outstanding achievement among individuals and teams.

Each category aims to identify the most talented and creative people in Yorkshire’s media industry as well as those making an outstanding contribution to their community.

The O2 Media Awards have the support of ITV and BBC, the Press Association and leading newspaper publishers. Judges are made up of experts from the media industry and include working journalists, editors and publishers.

The Yorkshire and the Humber O2 Media Awards are part of a series of regional media contests across the North.

Nicola Green, Director of Communications & Reputation at O2, said the awards continued to celebrate the fantastic work of regional journalists in their communities.

“The O2 Awards show how local and regional journalists can and do make a real difference to people’s lives. We are delighted the awards have become so highly thought of in the media industry and look forward to seeing this year’s entries,” Nicola added.

Journalists will be able to enter the following categories:


  • News Reporter
  • Specialist Reporter
  • Feature Writer
  • Best Website
  • Specialist Publication
  • TV Journalist
  • Sports Journalist
  • Young Journalist
  • Images of the Year
  • Radio Journalist
  • Scoop
  • On-line Media
  • Daily Newspaper
  • Weekly Newspaper
  • Team of the Year (Print)
  • Team of the Year (Broadcast)
  • Weekly Newspaper Reporter
  • Community Journalism
  • Broadcast Presenter
  • Magazine of the Year
  • O2 Stand Out Award



Entry forms are available by contacting Rossiter Media on 01829 741371 or by e-mail request to mediaawards@rossitermedia.co.uk


For more information, contact


Mark Rossiter

Rossiter Media


+44 (0)1829 741371



O2 Press Office contacts


t +44 (0)1753565656

e: pressoffice@o2.com


All O2 news releases can be accessed at our website: www.o2.co.uk/news