O2 Media Awards Yorkshire and Humber 2016

Post dominates O2 awards shortlist

Judges praise awards’ entrants after ‘remarkable’ news year


The Yorkshire Post and Evening Post dominate the field of finalists in this year’s O2 Media Awards for Yorkshire and The Humber.

The papers have multiple nominations across 12 categories. Post writers feature in News, Sport, Features and Specialist Reporter categories and there are also nominations for staff photographers James Hardisty and Jonathan Gawthorpe in Image of the Year.

In the broadcast categories young guns Made In Leeds will rub shoulders alongside ITV Yorkshire, BBC Look North and Look North East Yorkshire and Lincolnshire at the awards evening on October 6 at the Northern Ballet in Leeds. The local TV station earned two individual nominations with Andy Seddon making the final line-up in the Television Journalist of the Year and Peg Alexander shorlisted as Broadcast TV Presenter of the Year. The Made In Leeds team are also nominated in the new O2 Stand Out Award, alongside BBC Look North’s Harry Gration and Paul Hudson and ITV’s Phil Iveson.

Working editors and executives from newspapers, magazines, broadcasters and on-line publications were involved in three days of judging, eventually selecting a handful of shortlisted finalists from the hundreds of entries across 23 award categories.

BBC stations feature strongly in the radio categories. Pulse, Global and Radio Aire fly the flag for the commercial stations.

The O2 Awards are the biggest regional press awards of the year. BBC Breakfast presenter Louise Minchin will again host the awards’ evening.

Nicola Green, Director of Communications and Reputation at O2 UK, said the judging panels had faced tough decisions in deciding who would go through to the final.

“The year produced some exceptional stories in what was a remarkable 12 for news events. The diversity of entries gave judging panels a hugely difficult task in selecting shorlisted finalists. Many of those who didn’t make the final line-up this time around may well have been winners in previous years. The quality of all the entrants’ submissions was very high,” she added.

Successful nominees will be allocated tickets and should contact o2mediaawards@rossitermedia.co.uk for more details about the awards evening. Alternatively ring Rossiter Media Limited on 01829 741371 or e-mail Liz@rossitermedia.co.uk


O2 Media Awards Yorkshire and the Humber 2016 finalists

News Reporter

Simon Spark – BBC Look North East Yorkshire & Lincolnshire

Kevin Shoesmith – Hull Daily Mail

Rob Waugh – Yorkshire Post

Jon Hill – ITV Yorkshire

Helen Steel – ITV Yorkshire


Specialist Reporter

Jonathan Brown – Yorkshire Evening Post

Allison Coggan – Hull Daily Mail

Danni Hewson – BBC Look North

Aisha Iqbal – Yorkshire Evening Post


Feature Writer

Tom Richmond – Yorkshire Post

Allison Coggan – Hull Daily Mail

Aisha Iqbal – Yorkshire Evening Post

Kevin Shoesmith – Hull Daily Mail


Best Website

ITV Yorkshire

The Star Sheffield

Yorkshire Post

York Mix

Bradford Telegraph & Argus


Specialist Publication

The Star Sheffield – Hillsborough

Hull Daily Mail – City 2015-16

Hull Daily Mail – Heritage

Yorkshire Post – Queen at 90


Television Journalist

Phil Bodmer – BBC Look North

Christine Talbot – ITV Calendar

James Vincent – BBC Look North

Andy Seddon – Made In Leeds


Sports Journalist

Danny Hall – The Star Sheffield

Matt Dean – BBC Look North East Yorkshire & Lincolnshire

Tom Richmond – Yorkshire Post

Richard Sutcliffe – Yorkshire Post


Young Journalist

Ben Blosse – Hull Daily Mail

Gareth Barlow – BBC Radio York

George Torr – The Star Sheffield

Rosanna Austin – Radio Aire


Images of the Year (Stills)

Frank Dwyer – The Press York

James Hardisty – Yorkshire Post

Jonathan Gawthorpe – Yorkshire Post


Moving Images

Michael Newton – ITV Yorkshire

Peter Thompson  – BBC Look North East Yorkshire and Lincolnshire

Mark Graham – BBC Look North


Radio Journalist

Kat Harbourne – BBC Radio Sheffield

Tracy Gee – BBC Radio Leeds

Elly Fiorentini – BBC Radio York

Sarah Urwin – BBC Radio York



Yorkshire Post  – Fire chiefs’ expenses

ITV Yorkshire – Baby Ashes scandal

Yorkshire Evening Post  – My Dubai Hell

ITV Yorkshire – Child smuggling



On-Line Media Award

Star Sheffield

Insider Media

Huddersfield Examiner

York Mix


Daily Newspaper

Hull Daily Mail

Yorkshire Evening Post

Yorkshire Post


Weekly Newspaper

Sheffield Telegraph

Rotherham Advertiser

Scarborough News


Team of the Year (Print)

Yorkshire Post

Little Vikings

Yorkshire Living


Team of the Year (Broadcast)

BBC Look North

BBC Radio York

Global Radio

BBC On-line


Weekly Newspaper Reporter

Joseph Keith – Wakefield Express

Lynsey Bradford – Barnsley Chronicle

Natalie Derham – Selby Times

Katia Harston – Barnsley Chronicle


Community Journalism Award

Pulse FM – Bradford Fire campaign

Yorkshire Evening Post – Be A Hero

BBC Look North East Yorkshire and Lincolnshire – Migrants

Huddersfield Examiner – Community campaigns

ITV Yorkshire – Baby Ashes scandal


Broadcast Presenter (Radio)

Toby Foster – BBC Radio Sheffield

Richard Stead – BBC Radio Leeds

David Burns – BBC Radio Humberside

Georgey Spanswick – BBC Radio York




Broadcast Presenter (TV)

Duncan Wood – ITV Yorkshire

Lara Roston – BBC Look North

Peg Alexander – Made In Leeds


Best Magazine

The Magazine – Yorkshire Post


The Dalesman

The Journal – Hull Daily Mail


O2 Stand Out Award

BBC Look North – Harry Gration & Paul Hudson

Phil Iveson – ITV Yorkshire

Made In Leeds




For more information, contact


Mark Rossiter

Rossiter Media


+44 (0)1829 741371



O2 Press Office contacts


t +44 (0)1753565656

e: pressoffice@o2.com


All O2 news releases can be accessed at our website: www.o2.co.uk/news