O2 Media Awards 2015 Yorkshire and Humber

Murder victim’s family praises regional press

O2 Media Awards demonstrate shining examples of journalism

The sister of a schoolteacher murdered by a classroom killer has praised the “complete professionalism” of the regional media.

Denise Courtney, whose sister Ann Maguire was stabbed as she taught a Spanish lesson at Corpus Christi College in Leeds, said the regional press had shown “compassion and empathy” for the family.

“The way the media in Yorkshire handled the story demonstrated complete professionalism. Dealing with our loss was traumatic enough but then we found ourselves at the centre of a global media spotlight. Many regional journalists helped us through this difficult time,” she told the audience at this year’s O2 Media Awards for Yorkshire and The Humber.

Mrs Maguire was 61 and about to retire when she was repeatedly stabbed by schoolboy Will Cornick in April last year.

ITV Calendar anchorwoman Christine Talbot was one of the few journalists to secure an exclusive interview with the Maguire family. Talbot was named TV Broadcast Presenter of the Year during last night’s presentations. (Thursday 24th)

More than 170 journalists from TV, radio, print and on-line publications across Yorkshire enjoyed celebrations at York Racecourse.

ITV Calendar also picked up the award as the best broadcast team for their coverage of the Tour De France.

Broadcast rivals BBC Look North and Look North East Yorkshire and Lincolnshire were the biggest winners on the night. Reporter James Vincent was crowned TV Journalist of the Year, Matt Slater was named best Sports Reporter, Vicky Johnson picked up the award for Community Journalism and Emma Glasbey was awarded the Scoop of the Year for her exclusive interviews with right to die campaigner Debbie Purdy.

Purdy’s husband, classical violinist Omar Puente, praised Glasbey adding: ” Debbie shared her thoughts with Emma because she trusted her …I’m glad her skills as a journalist have been recognised.”

BBC radio stations were in tune with this year’s judging panel. Radio Humberside’s morning show presenter David Burns was named top radio presenter by the star of Radio Four’s Woman’s Hour Dame Jenni Murray and BBC Radio Leeds won Best Website.

Global Radio reporter Ella Griffith took the prize in the Radio Journalist category.

This year’s Daily Newspaper of the Year is the Sheffield Star who knocked the Hull Daily Mail off its top spot after three years of the title going to Humberside.

The Star’s big brother the Yorkshire Post was highly commended in the daily category and was voted Team of the Year in the print and digital catgories for its coverage of the Tour de France. Post photographer James Hardisty also won the Image of the Year.

Despite losing its crown as the region’s top daily the Hull Daily Mail again walked away with a clutch of trophies. Staffer Kevin Shoesmith triumphed as the region’s top news reporter, health writer Allison Coggan won the Specialist Writer award and the Mail also won the best Specialist Publication award.

This year’s best weekly newspaper is the Scunthorpe Telegraph, while weekly journalists Ruby Kitchen (Harrogate Advertiser) and Lynsey Bradford (Barnsley Chronicle) also picked up awards.

BBC Breakfast’s Louise Minchin and Sky Sports presenter Angela Powers hosted the evening’s celebrations.

 Nicola Green, Director of Communications and Reputation at O2 UK, said:

“With record numbers of entries this year the panel found it even harder to select the shortlists and eventual winners. The presentation evening was a celebration of some superb journalism and a reminder of how important the regional media is to local communities. Congratulations to everyone who entered and made this year’s event so competitive.”


Capita, a UK leader in business process management and outsourcing solutions, also supported the Awards.


Ben Tolhurst , Capita O2 Partnership Director, said the Awards were one of the most prestigious of their type in the UK.


“We are delighted to sponsor these awards. There have been some huge news events taking place in Yorkshire and the Humber this year and this event enabled us to look back at how the press brought those events to life for readers, viewers and listeners.”


Images of the night are here O2 Media Awards 2015 images


O2 Media Awards Yorkshire and the Humber 2015 Winners and runners up


TV Broadcast Presenter of the Year

Christine Talbot – ITV Calendar


Radio Broadcast Presenter of the Year

David Burns – BBC Radio Humberside


Highly Commended

Rony Robinson – BBC Radio Sheffield

Johnathan I’Anson – BBC Radio Leeds


Community Journalism Award

Vicky Johnson – BBC Look North East Yorkshire and Lincolnshire


Highly Commended

BBC Radio York

BBC Radio Humberside


Daily Newspaper of the Year

Sheffield Star


Highly Commended

Yorkshire Post

Hull Daily Mail


Team of the Year (Broadcast)

ITV Calendar


Highly Commended

BBC Look North

BBC Radio Sheffield

Hallam FM



Team of the Year (Print)

Yorkshire Post


Highly Commended

Little Vikings

Huddersfield Examiner

Goole Times and Selby Times


Feature Writer of the Year

Ruby Kitchen – Harrogate Advertiser


Highly Commended

Lauren Potts – BBC Yorkshire On-Line

Jamie Macaskill – Hull Daily Mail

Richard Beecham – Dewsbury Reporter


On-Line Media Award

Huddersfield Examiner


Highly Commended

Yorkshire Business Insider

Bradford Telegraph and Argus

York on a Fork


News Reporter of the Year

Kevin Shoesmith – Hull Daily Mail


Highly Commended

Allison Coggan – Hull Daily Mail

Emma Glasbey – BBC Look North


Images of the Year

James Hardisty – Yorkshire Post


Highly Commended

David Poucher – Rotherham Advertiser

Simon Hulme – Yorkshire Post

Anthony Chappel-Ross – The Press York


Moving Images of the Year

Brian Punter-Mathews – BBC Look North


Highly Commended

Michael Newton – ITV Calendar

David Rimmington – BBC Look North East Yorkshire and Lincolnshire


Radio Journalist of the Year

Ella Griffith – Global Radio Yorkshire


Highly Commended

Laura Pennington – Hallam FM

Mick Lunney – BBC Radio Sheffield

Rosanna Austin – Radio Aire


Scoop of the Year

Emma Glasbey – BBC Look North


Highly Commended

Kevin Shoesmith – Hull Daily Mail

Daragh Corcoran – BBC Radio Leeds


Specialist Publication of the Year

Humber Street Sesh – Hull Daily Mail


Highly Commended

Little Vikings

Yorkshire Cycling – Living Magazine

Rotherham Advertiser

The Gryphon


Best Website

BBC Radio Leeds


Highly Commended

ITV Calendar

Sheffield Star

Huddersfield Daily Examiner


Specialist Writer of the Year

Allison Coggan – Hull Daily Mail


Highly Commended

James Vincent – BBC Look North

Hannah Woodhead – The Gryphon

Greg Wright – Yorkshire Post


Sports Reporter of the Year

Matt Slater – BBC Look North


Highly Commended

Tom Richmond – Yorkshire Post

Richard Sutcliffe – Yorkshire Post

Chris Dawkes – ITV Calendar


Television Journalist of the Year

James Vincent – BBC Look North


Highly Commended

Kate Bradbrook – BBC Look North

Emma Glasbey – BBC Look North

Paul Brand – ITV Calendar


Weekly Journalist of the Year

Lynsey Bradford – Barnsley Chronicle


Highly Commended

Don Mort – Wakefield/Hemsworth & South Elmsall Express

Ruby Kitchen – Harrogate Advertiser


Weekly Newspaper of the Year

Scunthorpe Telegraph


Highly Commended

Scarborough News

Harrogate Advertiser


Young Reporter of the Year

Jack Gevertz – York Vision


Highly Commended

Jonathan Brown – Yorkshire Post

Ella Griffith – Global Radio Yorkshire

Andy Seddon – Made In Leeds



For more information, contact


Mark Rossiter

Rossiter Media


+44 (0)1829 741371


O2 Press Office contacts


t +44 (0)1753565656

e: pressoffice@o2.com


All O2 news releases can be accessed at our website: www.o2.co.uk/news