O2 Media Awards North West 2015- Finalists announced

Granada Reports tops shortlist in O2 awards

Toughest year yet for judges as entries swell to new record


ITV’s Granada Reports leads the way in the list of nominees for this year’s O2 Media Awards North West.

Head of News Lucy West’s team is shortlisted 13 times across the 21 award categories including two nominations for correspondent Matt O’Donoghue in TV Journalist of the Year and overall News Reporter of the Year.

BBC North West Tonight has seven nominations. Reporter Clare Fallon leads the charge with a hat-trick of nominations including Scoop of the Year for her investigation into an al-Qaeda terrorist plot in Manchester.

In the print categories the Liverpool Echo, The Sentinel, Stoke and Cumbrian Newspapers head the field.

More than 25 working editors and executives from newspapers, magazines, broadcasters and on-line publications were involved in the judging process.

Commercial stations dominate the radio categories. Radio City, Juice FM, Key 103 and The Bee all feature strongly.

New faces at the finals include Wire FM, Cumberland and Westmorland Herald, Northwich Guardian, Macclesfield Express and Altrincham Today.

With more than 360 individual entries the O2 Awards in the North West are the biggest regional press awards of the year. Winners will be announced at the awards ceremony on November 12 at Chester Racecourse in Cheshire. BBC Breakfast presenter Louise Minchin will again host the evening’s celebrations.

Nicola Green, Director of Communications and Reputation at O2 UK, said the judging panel was hugely impressed by journalists working across different media organisations in the North West.

“Congratulations to those who made the final line up, but also a huge thank you to everyone who entered this year’s competition. Selecting the shortlisted nominees this year was particularly difficult as the standards were so high. The presentation evening will be a celebration of some superb journalism and a reminder of how important the regional media is to local communities.”

Capita, a UK leader in business process management and outsourcing solutions, will also support the Awards. O2 extended its existing partnership with Capita to include the running of O2’s call centres across the UK.

Bob Buiaroski, Capita O2 Partnership Director, said the Awards were one of the most prestigious of their type in the UK.

“We are delighted to sponsor these awards. The event enables us to look back at how the press brought news events to life for readers, viewers and listeners across the region.”

Successful nominees will be allocated tickets and should contact o2mediaawards@rossitermedia.co.uk for more details about the awards evening. Alternatively ring Rossiter Media Limited on 01829 741371 or e-mail Liz@rossitermedia.co.uk



O2 Media Awards North West 2015 finalists

Broadcast Presenter of the Year

Mick Coyle – Radio City

Vicky Warham – Wire FM

Lucy Meacock – ITV Granada Reports

Peggy Walker – BBC Radio Cumbria


Community Journalism Award

Neal Keeling – Manchester Evening News

The Sentinel, Stoke – Our Big Read

Michelle Livesey – Key 103

Sarah Rogers – ITV Granada Reports

Nicola Adam – Lancaster Guardian


Daily Newspaper of the Year

The Sentinel, Stoke

News & Star

Lancashire Evening Post

Liverpool Echo

Team of the Year (Broadcast)

ITV Granada Reports

Radio City

Juice FM

BBC North West Tonight


Team of the Year (Print)

Lancashire Evening Post

Mid Cheshire Guardian

Warrington Guardian

Carlisle Living


Feature Writer of the Year

Tom Belger – Liverpool Echo

Roger Lytollis – Cumberland News

Jenny Amphlett – The Sentinel, Stoke

David Prior – Altrincham Today


Free Distribution Newspaper

Champion Newspapers

St Helens Star

Wirral Globe


On-Line Media Award

Chester Chronicle

ITV Granada

North West Business Insider

Lancashire Telegraph

Juice FM


News Reporter of the Year

John Siddle – Liverpool Echo

Matt O’Donoghue – ITV Granada Reports

Clare Fallon – BBC Look North West

Samantha Yarwood – Daily Post


Images of the Year

Emma Boyd – Westmorland Gazette

Stuart Walker – Cumbrian Newspapers

Ian Cooper – Liverpool Echo

Ian Robinson  – Lancashire Evening Post


Radio Journalist of the Year

Chris Chambers – Juice FM

Michelle Livesey – Key 103

Sarah Poole – Global Radio

Vicky Glover – 2BR & The Bee


Scoop of the Year

Clare Fallon – BBC North West Tonight

Party people – ITV Granada Reports

Claire Smyth – The Sentinel, Stoke

Adam Phillips – Rock FM


Specialist Publication of the Year

The Sentinel, Stoke – Echoes of WW2/Salute to the Few

Cumbria Life – CN Magazines

The Sentinel, Stoke – Sir Stanley Matthews

Cumbrian Newspapers – Proud to be Cumbrian / 200 Anniversary


Best Website

Wirral Globe

Westmorland Gazette

Liverpool Echo

Warrington Guardian


Specialist Writer of the Year

Dave Blackhurst – The Sentinel, Stoke

John Siddle – Liverpool Echo

Aasma Day  – Lancashire Evening Post

Michaela Robinson-Tate – Cumbria Life

Victoria Glover – 2 BR & The Bee


Sports Reporter of the Year – Broadcast

Mike Hall – ITV Granada Reports

Richard Askam – BBC North West Tonight

Ian Haslam – BBC North West Tonight

Chris Hall – ITV Granada Reports


Sports Reporter of the Year – Print

James Pearce – Liverpool Echo

Will Watt – Blackpool Gazette

Jon Colman – Cumberland News/News &Star

Suzanne Geldard – Lancashire Telegraph


Television Journalist of the Year

Adam McClean – ITV Granada Reports

Dan Hewitt – ITV Granada Reports

Matt O’Donoghue – ITV Granada Reports

Clare Fallon – BBC North West Tonight

Dave Guest – BBC North West Tonight



Weekly Journalist of the Year

Max Wieland – Tameside Reporter

Kenny Lomas – Northwich Guardian

Carmella De Lucia – Chester Chronicle

Emma Rigby – Wirral Globe


Weekly Newspaper of the Year

Cumberland and Westmorland Herald

Macclesfield Express

Sunday Echo

Cumberland News


Young Reporter of the Year

Dan Hewitt – ITV Granada Reports

Rhiannon Hilton – Crewe Chronicle

Josh Parry – Liverpool Echo

Matt Jones – Radio City

Natasha Carter – ITV Granada Reports



For more information, contact


Mark Rossiter

Rossiter Media


+44 (0)1829 741371


O2 Press Office contacts


t +44 (0)1753565656

e: pressoffice@o2.com


All O2 news releases can be accessed at our website: www.o2.co.uk/news