O2 Media Award Winners Crowned

The Yorkshire Post retained its title as the region’s premier newspaper at this year’s O2Media Awards for Yorkshire and The Humber.

The Post was voted best daily newspaper and O2’s best overall newspaper at the awards, designed to celebrate the work of the region’s most talented writers, broadcasters and photographers.

The Post also won the Scoop of the Year award for exposing the cavalier use of public money by a major Yorkshire university; and Post journalist David Behrens retained the Digital Journalist of the Year title he claimed last year.

The Press, York also won a hat-trick of awards, reporter Stephen Lewis taking the Feature Writer title and Jennifer Bell the Young Journalist of the Year crown for daily newspapers. Anthony Chappel-Ross was named Photographer of the Year.

Other winners included the Keighley News which was named weekly of the year, the Hull Daily Mail, BBC Look North, BBC Radio Leeds and the Doncaster Free Press.

A special Lifetime Achievement Award was given to Nigel Scott, the former Business Editor of the Yorkshire Evening Post who died on Boxing Day after a battle against cancer. Nigel, who was 47, was one of the country’s best-known and award-winning regional journalists and spent his last months chronicling his illness to help fellow sufferers. His award was collected by his widow Melanie and teenage daughters Emily and Eleanor.

The awards evening was held at the The Loft in Leeds city centre. It is the latest in a series of media awards contests launched by O2 across the North and North West to honour local and regional press.

In the television category, BBC Look North’s Tom Ingall scooped Broadcast Journalist of the Year for an exciting portfolio mixing hard news, in depth features and funny ‘And finally’ moments.

BBC journalist Kate Bradbrook of Radio Leeds was crowned Radio Journalist of the Year and the Sports Reporter of the year went to Paul Walker of BBC Radio Sheffield.

This year O2 also introduced the Think Big award to mark the work of young people who were using communication skills to improve their communities. The winning entry was from Voxx, a group of teens who make TV shows and produce a magazine aimed at 13 to 25-year-old on topics such as healthy eating, alternative sports and work options.

The judging panel included Richard Catlow of the Society of Editors, Maria McGeoghan, Editor of the Manchester Evening News; Ian Savage, Editor of the Bolton News; Nicola Priest, Editor of the Warrington Guardian; Jan Lever, Managing Director of Newsquest Blackburn and Bolton; Bill Gleeson, Business Editor of the Liverpool Echo; Steve Hothersall, News and Sports Editor of Radio City; Chris Moorcroft of Sky TV; HBO filmmaker Dave Ellison; award-winning photographer Stephen Shakeshaft, Charlotte Hill, Communications Director from UK Youth; Andy Callard from the National Youth Agency and Jamie Coley from the Think Big Youth Advisory Panel.

Glenn Manoff, O2’s Director of Communications and Reputation, said the awards recognised outstanding media coverage of issues affecting communities.

“We are delighted to celebrate the huge service local and regional journalists provide to communities across Yorkshire and The Humber,’ he added.

O2 is the largest single site employer in Leeds employing more than 2,500 people.

O2 Media Awards Winners and Finalists

Digital Journalist of the Year

Winner – David Behrens ‘ Yorkshire Post

Highly Commended

Nick Westby ‘ Yorkshire Post

Rick Burin ‘ Harrogate Advertiser

Feature Writer of the Year

Winner – Stephen Lewis ‘ The Press, York

Highly Commended

Tom Richmond ‘ Yorkshire Post

Ian Midgley ‘ Hull Daily Mail

Photographer of the Year

Winner – Anthony Chappel-Ross ‘ The Press, York

Highly Commended

Stephen Garnett ‘ Craven Herald

Simon Hulme ‘ The Yorkshire Post

Sports Journalist of the Year

Paul Walker ‘ BBC Radio Sheffield

Highly Commended

Mike Russell ‘ The Star Sheffield

Tom Richmond ‘ Yorkshire Post

Radio Broadcast Journalist of the Year

Winner – Kate Bradbrook ‘ BBC Radio Leeds

Highly Commended

Mick Lunney ‘ BBC Radio Sheffield

Television Broadcast Journalist of the Year

Winner – Tom Ingall – BBC Look North

Highly Commended

Emma Blackburn ‘ BBC Look North

Young Journalist of the Year ‘ Dailies

Winner – Jennifer Bell ‘ The Press, York

Highly Commended

Emma Blackburn ‘ BBC Look North

Laura Bowyer ‘ Yorkshire Evening Post

Young Journalist of the Year ‘ Weeklies

Winner – Kate Mason ‘ Doncaster Free Press

Highly Commended

Rick Burin ‘ Harrogate Advertiser

Kate Liptrot ‘ Doncaster Free Press

Reporter of the Year

Winner – Louise Eccles ‘ Hull Daily Mail

Highly Commended

Gavin Aitchison ‘ The Press, York

David Roberts ‘ Northern Echo

Business Journalist of the Year

Winner – Chris Holland ‘ Telegraph and Argus

Highly Commended

Greg Wright ‘ Yorkshire Post

Bernard Ginns ‘ Yorkshire Post

Scoop of the Year

Winner – Yorkshire Post

Highly Commended

The Star, Sheffield

Radio York

Editorial Team of the Year

Winner – Rotherham Advertiser

Highly Commended

BBC Radio Leeds

Newspaper of the Year ‘ Weekly

Winner – Keighley News

Highly Commended

South Yorkshire Times

Newspaper of the Year – Daily

Winner – Yorkshire Post

Highly Commended

The Star, Sheffield

Hull Daily Mail

O2 Newspaper of the Year

Winner – Yorkshire Post