O2 Media Awards 2015: Finalists

‘Best of the Best’ named in O2 awards shortlist

Toughest year yet for judges as entries swell to new record

“Regional journalism at its very best,” that’s how judges described the record number of entries bidding for honours in this year’s O2 Media Awards for Yorkshire and The Humber.

More than 25 working editors and executives from newspapers, magazines, broadcasters and on-line publications were involved in three days of judging, eventually selecting a handful of shortlisted finalists from the hundreds of entries across 20 award categories.

BBC Look North and Look North East together have 12 nominations, while BBC radio stations across Yorkshire and The Humber collectively have nine shortlisted entries. ITV Calendar is nominated in six award categories.

In the print categories the Yorkshire Post leads the way with eight shortlisted entries, the Hull Daily Mail boasts seven finalists, including two nominations each for health correspondent Allison Coggan and news reporter Kevin Shoesmith. For the weeklies the Harrogate Advertiser shines with three nominations, including Best Weekly Newspaper where it faces last years’s winner the Scarborough News and the Scunthorpe Telegraph.

Commercial radio stations Hallam FM, Radio Aire and Capital FM dominate in the award for best radio journalist. Ella Griffith from Capital is one of a number of reporters who have achieved multiple nominations. Others include James Vincent and Emma Glasbey of BBC Look North.

Making the finals for the first time are Made In Leeds, specialist publications Little Vikings and York on a Fork and student newspaper York Vision.

BBC Radio Sheffield’s iconic daytime host Rony Robinson, now in his 75th year and celebrating 20 uninterrupted years on air, is again nominated as Broadcast Presenter of the Year.

With more than 300 individual entries the O2 Awards in Yorkshire and the Humber are the biggest regional press awards of the year. Winners will be announced at the awards ceremony on September  24 at York Racecourse in York. BBC Breakfast presenter Louise Minchin will again host the evening’s celebrations.

Nicola Green, Director of Communications and Reputation at O2 UK, said the judging panel were hugely impressed by journalists working across Yorkshire and the Humber.

“With record numbers of entries his year the panel found it even harder to select the shortlists. The presentation evening will be a celebration of some superb journalism and a reminder of how important the regional media is to local communities.”

Capita, a UK leader in business process management and outsourcing solutions, will also support the Awards. Last year, O2 extended its existing partnership with Capita to include the running of O2’s call centres across the UK. This included the Customer Service teams at the Arlington Business Centre in Leeds.

Bob Buiaroski, Capita O2 Partnership Director, said the Awards were one of the most prestigious of their type in the UK.

“We are delighted to sponsor these awards. There have been some huge news events taking place in Yorkshire and the Humber this year and this event enables us to look back at how the press brought those events to life for readers, viewers and listeners.”


Successful nominees will be allocated tickets and should contact o2mediaawards@rossitermedia.co.uk for more details about the awards evening. Alternatively ring Rossiter Media Limited on 01829 741371 or e-mail Liz@rossitermedia.co.uk



O2 Media Awards Yorkshire and the Humber 2015 finalists



Broadcast Presenter of the Year

Rony Robinson – BBC Radio Sheffield

Christine Talbot – ITV Calendar

David Burns – BBC Radio Humberside

Johnathan I’Anson – BBC Radio Leeds


Community Journalism Award

BBC Radio Humberside

Vicky Johnson – BBC Look North East Yorkshire and Lincolnshire

BBC Radio York


Daily Newspaper of the Year

Hull Daily Mail

Sheffield Star

Yorkshire Post


Team of the Year (Broadcast)

BBC Look North

ITV Calendar

BBC Radio Sheffield

Hallam FM


Team of the Year (Print)

Yorkshire Post

Little Vikings

Huddersfield Examiner

Goole Times and Selby Times


Feature Writer of the Year

Lauren Potts – BBC Yorkshire On-Line

Jamie Macaskill – Hull Daily Mail

Richard Beecham – Dewsbury Reporter

Ruby Kitchen – Harrogate Advertiser


On-Line Media Award

Yorkshire Business Insider

Huddersfield Examiner

Bradford Telegraph and Argus

York on a Fork


News Reporter of the Year

Emma Glasbey – BBC Look North

Kevin Shoesmith – Hull Daily Mail

Allison Coggan – Hull Daily Mail


Images of the Year

Anthony Chappel-Ross – The Press York

James Hardisty – Yorkshire Post

David Poucher – Rotherham Advertiser

Simon Hulme – Yorkshire Post


Moving Images of the Year

Michael Newton – ITV Calendar

David Rimmington – BBC Look North

Brian Punter-Mathews – BBC Look North


Radio Journalist of the Year

Laura Pennington – Hallam FM

Mick Lunney – BBC Radio Sheffield

Ella Griffith – Capital FM Yorkshire

Rosanna Austin – Radio Aire


Scoop of the Year

Emma Glasbey – BBC Look North

Kevin Shoesmith – Hull Daily Mail

Daragh Corcoran – BBC Radio Leeds


Specialist Publication of the Year

The Gryphon

Humber Street Sesh – Hull Daily Mail

Little Vikings

Yorkshire Cycling – Living Magazine

Rotherham Advertiser

Best Website

ITV Calendar

Sheffield Star

Huddersfield Daily Examiner

BBC Radio Leeds


Specialist Writer of the Year

Greg Wright – Yorkshire Post

Allison Coggan – Hull Daily Mail

James Vincent – BBC Look North

Hannah Woodhead – The Gryphon


Sports Reporter of the Year

Chris Dawkes – ITV Calendar

Matt Slater – BBC Look North

Tom Richmond – Yorkshire Post

Richard Sutcliffe – Yorkshire Post


Television Journalist of the Year

Paul Brand – ITV Calendar

James Vincent – BBC Look North

Emma Bradbrook – BBC Look North

Emma Glasbey – BBC Look North


Weekly Journalist of the Year

Lynsey Bradford – Barnsley Chronicle

Don Mort – Wakefield/Hemsworth & South Elmsall Express

Ruby Kitchen – Harrogate Advertiser


Weekly Newspaper of the Year

Harrogate Advertiser

Scunthorpe Telegraph

Scarborough News


Young Reporter of the Year

Jonathan Brown – Yorkshire Post

Ella Griffith – Capital FM Yorshire

Jack Gervetz – York Vision

Andy Seddon – Made In Leeds





Mark RossiterRossiter Mediamark@rossitermedia.co.uk+44 (0)1829 741371


O2 Press Office contacts


t +44 (0)1753565656

e: pressoffice@o2.com


All O2 news releases can be accessed at our website: www.o2.co.uk/news